When the Qbox Client is installed on your computer, it creates a folder named ‘Qbox’ in the location you selected during installation. The Qbox folder contains the Root folders and Sync folders created by you or shared with you by other users.
Qbox creates a Root Folder with a unique name for each account owner. The Sync folders created by the owner are created as sub-folders of the Root folder on each user’s computer. A user can have access to own, as well as shared Sync folders in the same Qbox Explorer without conflict, as these are created as sub-folders of respective Root folders.
Sync folders are used for sharing application data files that users can work on, and collaborate in real-time. These data files are locked when opened in a supported application and synced when closed. Multiple data files from the same or different applications can be located in the same Sync folder, as long as they are shared with the same set of users. As sharing is done at the folder level, files that need to be shared with different users, need to be located in different Sync folders. Account owners are billed for the number of Sync folders active on the billing date.
Sync folders can be created by the account owner or Team admin at the Qbox Web Dashboard or on the Qbox Explorer. To create a sync folder, please follow the Create Sync Folder instructions.
Qbox account owners, Team members and Shared users with admin permission, can create sub-folders inside a Sync folder to organize documents and files. Sub-folders are automatically shared with the users sharing the parent folder. Account owners and Team members with admin permission can also invite additional users to share the sub-folder. These users will have access only to the contents of the sub-folder and not those of the parent folder. A sub-folder is not billed unless it is shared directly with additional users.
Any shared user can copy files to a Sync Folder. In most of the cases, you can copy a file simply by copying them from the Windows folder and pasting them in the Qbox Explorer. Right click on the mouse to select copy or paste the file. In the case of QuickBooks, both QBW and TLG files need to be copied, by holding down the CTL key to select both the files. Please refer to Copy QuickBooks Files for detailed instructions for copying QuickBooks files.
Sub-folders are by default shared with the users sharing the parent folder. Account owners and Team admins can invite additional users to share a subfolder. These users will only have access to the contents of the subfolder and will not have access to the contents of the parent folder. Please note that when a sub-folder is shared with additional users, it will be billed separately as a Sync folder.
Qbox folders can be renamed by the account owner or Team admin, at the Qbox website or the Qbox Explorer. To rename a folder, right click on the folder and select Rename.
Qbox files cannot be renamed. If you rename a file from Windows Explorer, Qbox will sync down the original file again and sync up the renamed file. Instead, copy the files outside Qbox, rename, and copy them back to Qbox.
Folders and files can be deleted by the account owner or Team admin, on the Qbox Explorer or at the Web Dashboard. To delete, right click on the folder or file, and select ‘Delete’. Please use caution while deleting a folder: The contents of the folder will be deleted on all shared user computers. These may include files in the Qbox folder that have not yet synced and remain on the local disk. Similarly, when a file is deleted, it will be deleted from all shared user computers.
Qbox folders and files cannot be deleted on the Windows Explorer. If you delete a folder or file on Windows Explorer, these will not be deleted in Qbox and will be created and synced down again.
Deleted items are available on the Qbox Cloud server for a period of 30 days from the date of deletion and can be restored by the Account owner or Team admin at the Qbox Web Dashboard. Please refer to Restore Deleted Files and Folders for detailed instructions on restoring files.
Qbox Recovery folder is created in the same directory path as the Qbox folder. If you worked on a file without locking it, and Qbox needs to sync changes made by another user, it will first make a copy of your file, and then sync the file from the other user. If you prefer to use your version of the file instead of the version synced by the other user, you can recover it from the Qbox Recovery folder. Qbox maintains up to two copies of the recovered files named copy 1 (most recent) and copy 2, in the recovery folder. You can rename the file back to the original, and copy/paste the file into the Qbox Explorer to replace it with your version.
Qbox will sync file sizes up about 2 GB (giga-bytes). Larger files will not sync and will cause sync errors.
A folder cannot be copied directly into the Qbox Explorer. Instead, create a new folder in Qbox Explorer, and then copy/paste only the files from the folder under Windows, to the new folder you created in Qbox Explorer. Multiple files can be selected and copied by holding the CTL or SHIFT key down to make copying easier.
Qbox account owners and team admins can enable sync for a Custom Sync folder. Sign into your account at the Qbox website, and locate the Custom Sync folder. Click on the ‘Sync Enable’ box and select the number of months you want to enable sync.
Sign into your account at the Qbox Website, and locate the Custom Sync Folder. Click on the ‘Sync Enable’ box for the folder, and select ‘Upgrade to Regular Sync’. The folder will be upgraded to the Regular Sync folder.
Powered by BetterDocs
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.