Lock

What is a Qbox File Lock? #

Qbox File Lock is a software concept which ensures that only one user who has the lock can sync and share changes made to a file. Users without File Lock can view the file, but any changes they make will not be synced. This simple to use mechanism helps protect the changes made by a shared user, and avoids creating conflicted copies of data files.

How can I lock the file? #

To lock a file, open the file in the Qbox Explorer by double clicking on it. This will launch the application and open the file. If the lock mode is set to ‘Manual’, Qbox will display a prompt asking you to lock the file. Click ‘Yes’ on the prompt to lock the file before you start working on it. if the lock is not available, Qbox will display a prompt stating that the lock is not available, and in this case do not make any changes to the file. If the lock mode is set to ‘Auto’, Qbox will automatically lock the file for you, if no other user has locked the file.

When Is the file lock released? #

File lock will be released automatically after Qbox syncs up the changes made to the file by the user who locked the file. It is possible to release the file lock manually even before the file syncs, but this should be done only to recover from situations like a computer crash, as the changes made by the user will not sync, and will be lost.

Can the file be locked automatically? #

On the Qbox Explorer, go to Settings, Lock Mode and select Auto. In the Auto Lock mode, the file will be locked automatically when opened, if no other user has locked the file.

I opened the file inside Qbox but did not get the prompt for a lock? #

Check to make sure that your Qbox is running and you have the Qbox icon on your Windows task bar. If you are not sure, please try restarting Qbox by right clicking on the small Qbox icon on the System Tray, and selecting ‘Restart Qbox’,

Another reason could be that the account owner has marked you ‘Read Only’ for the folder shared with you. Please check to make sure that the R/O column on the Qbox explorer is not checked. Qbox will not lock the file if you have been given Read Only access.

Can I make changes without acquiring the lock? #

Please do not work on the file if it is not locked for you. Changes you make without a lock can be lost if another user with a File Lock syncs changes.  If you keep the file open without locking it, Qbox will display a warning message every three minutes to remind you that you don’t have the lock.

Can I lock a file without opening the application? #

Set Qbox sync to manual: go to Settings, Sync Mode, and select Manual. Right click on the file you want to lock, and select ‘Lock File’ . The file will be locked for you if no other user has locked it.

Can I release a file lock manually? #

Qbox account owners, Team members with admin permission and the user who locked a file can release the lock manually to recover from a lock out condition. To release a lock, sign into your account at the Qbox website www.qboxplus.com, locate the file and click the lock icon. The lock will be released after you confirm. Please note that any changes to the file made by the user who locked the file can be lost.

Can I release the lock without syncing the changes I made? #

First enable advanced commands: on the Qbox Explorer Settings, Advanced, un-check the ‘Hide adv commands’ box. Next, right click on the file that is locked by you and select ‘Release Lock’. After you confirm, Qbox will release the lock and restore the file to the latest synced version from the Qbox cloud server.

We recommend that you keep the Hide adv commands box ‘checked’ for normal use, to avoid releasing the lock inadvertently, resulting in data loss.


Can I restore a file to the last synced version? #

If you did not lock and made some changes to the file that you don’t need, you can restore it to the last synced version. To restore, uncheck the ‘Hide adv commands’ box on the Qbox Explorer, Settings/Advanced option, right click on the file and select ‘Restore’. Qbox will restore the file to the last synced version.

We recommend that you keep the Hide adv commands box ‘checked’ for normal use, to avoid restoring the file inadvertently, resulting in data loss.

Prompt for lock keeps appearing even when I am not in the QuickBooks file. What can I do? #

If you are getting spurious prompts to lock the file, it could be because a process running in the background is trying to open a file in Qbox. If your application is not running, you can  check and end the process that could cause this issue using Windows Task Manager. You can also try restarting your computer, which should resolve the issue.

Powered by BetterDocs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *