You can pause sync by checking the box provided under Settings, Sync Mode. When this box is checked, file sync up and down will be disabled. You can open and lock a file to work, but the file will not sync when closed. Use pause sync to avoid data usage while on a mobile hot-spot Internet, to reduce data usage. Sync can be enabled when you are back on a wired or wireless network.